Territorial Cooperation

MFF heading:1b) Smart and Inclusive Growth - Economic, social and territorial cohesion
Funds:Territorial Cooperation
Policy supported:Regional and Urban Policy
2014-2020 MFF ceiling:
Managing Member States:28 EU Member States
Managing Directorate-General:Directorate-General for Regional and Urban Policy (DG REGIO)

These funds are spent through the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF), which is one of the five ESIF. As such, a number of common rules are applicable to their management. They must be invested in priority to support investment for growth and jobs and European Territorial Cooperation. In 2014,Member States had to prepare Partnership Agreements (strategic plans with investment priorities) for the 5 ESIF, negotiated between the Commission and the Member States.Then they adopted Operational Programmes, which break down the investment priorities and objectives of the Partnership Agreements into concrete actions. These Operational Programmes are implemented by Member States and their regions, which select, implement, monitor and evaluate individual projects according to priorities and targets agreed for the programmes with the Commission.